Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
marussie
2 juillet 2014

How Tatiana Becomes Tanya – Russian Names Explained

I recently changed jobs. And my new boss asked me – whether I prefer to be called Tatiana or Tanya. He noticed that I use Tanya for this blog and Tatiana at work. I replied that I prefer Tatiana for work, since I know that having several versions of name confuses people in a Western work environment. But I thought that explanation of how Russian names work is a great topic for a post!

Russian Names 101

  • Full name in Russia consists of a first name, a patronymic and a last name (my full name would be Tatiana Gennadyevna Golubeva)
  • Patronymic is a derivative from the father’s name
  • All Russian names also have multiple diminutive versions
  • The most tricky part for a foreigner is to learn in which situations it is proper to use just the first name, first name with patronymic, just the last name or the diminutive version of the name
Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
marussie
Publicité
Publicité